Manipulated

Studio 30 Plus gave us copse and/or grove this week.  I’m cutting it down to the last second, but here is the next piece in my Weather Riders serial.  Enjoy and check out other ways this prompt was used over at Studio 30 Plus!

 

I went for a walk the next morning through the copse surrounding the cabin and wondered what the hell I agreed to last night.  Revolution?  Me leading?  Sheer craziness.  As I walked, I thought of all the reasons this whole notion reeked of insanity.

I stopped and stared at the clouds.  For the first time in too long, I reached out and played with them.  I made shapes.  Puffed them up.  Thinned them out into non-existence.  I felt clumsy, but did a passable job of making my playing appear to be the wind created havoc with the clouds.

“You’re good,” Caiden came up behind me.

I almost denied it out of sheer habit.  He already had my secret.

“Thank you.  It’s been a long time since I did that.”

“Imagine what you would do with practice.”

Smiling, I continued to watch the wind and the clouds.

“I want to show you something,” he continued, “It belongs to Marcus, but I want you to see it.”

I arched an eyebrow at him and he chuckled.

“That’s not what I meant!”

He protested some more as I laughed.  When I could breathe again without dissolving into hysterics at Caiden’s indignant expression, I wiped the tears from my face and gestured for him to lead on.

Caiden took me to a little pine grove nestled among the birch, oaks, and maples on a cliff overlooking the lake.

“There are twenty-seven evergreens here.  One for each of the Chimeras in this region who were killed for their powers.”

“Wow,” I wandered through pines of all sizes, “This is an amazing tribute.”

“Marcus and I, well most of it is Marcus, did not want their memory to be erased.  This is why we must fight.  And win.”

I knew in that moment with absolute certainty Caiden manipulated me into this point in time.  He understood I would not quit now.

S30PBadge

Leave a Reply

