Talk of Revolution

Studio 30 Plus gave us boisterous and/or rowdy this week.  I am cutting it rather close, but here is the latest in the Weather Riders serial.  Check out other great authors at Studio 30 Plus as well.

 

`Something must have showed on my face.

“You did not know that?  How did you survive?”

I hesitated.

“Your promise,” Marcus looked down for several seconds, “I know you promised.  Please, believe me when I say I am not here to hurt you.  Neither is Caiden or anyone else in this house.  Okay?”

I took a deep breath.  I trusted Marcus.  At least that much.

“This is the first I heard about my powers being lethal.  I didn’t know I was supposed to have struggled with them.”

Marcus blinked.  His jaw worked several times but no words came out.

“Now do you understand why I kept it a secret?”

“I do.”

A cacophony of sounds came from down the hall.  Thumps kept time with shouts and laughter.  The two boys I met earlier came tumbling into the great room.

“Boys!  A little too rowdy in the house.  Take it outside, please?” Marcus directed them without missing a beat.

“Yes, sir!” they called as they exploded out the sliding glass door.

Marcus turned back to me, “They get a little boisterous, but they are good boys.”

“I can see that,” and I could.  Their manners were excellent and they were not causing damage.

Caiden came down the stairs and flopped into a chair.  One long leg flew up to rest across the arm of the chair as he settled in half sideways.

“Did you tell her yet, Marcus?”

“Tell me what?” I looked at Caiden

Marcus shook his head, “Not yet.”

“Get a move on, man.”

“It’s not that simple.”

“Why not?”

“Hello,” I broke in, “I am sitting right here.  What is this that you’re both not telling me.”

“You will be the one to lead our revolution,” Caiden said, his voice flat and his face unmoving.

“You’re kidding.”

“Nope.”

“I can’t do that!  I barely lead my kitchen staff.”

“It does not matter.  You are destined to do it,” Marcus stated in a tone that brooked no argument.

 

S30PBadge

5 thoughts on “Talk of Revolution

Leave a Reply

